Back to Library
Last reviewed: July 2026

BPC-157

Recovery|Synthetic pentadecapeptide

Also known as: PL 14736, PL-10, PLD-116

Evidence Snapshot

Human Evidence

Very limited (small pilot/retrospective studies; no completed large RCT)

Animal Evidence

Extensive, but concentrated among a small number of research groups

Confirmed Receptor

None identified

FDA Approval Status

None, any indication

Active Clinical Trial Status

One registered Phase 2 RCT (hamstring strain); FDA compounding-list review pending as of this writing

Key Takeaways

  • BPC-157 is one of the most extensively studied peptides in animal tissue-repair research.
  • Published human evidence remains limited to small pilot studies and retrospective analyses.
  • No FDA-approved therapeutic indication exists.
  • No confirmed receptor has been identified.
  • The largest gap in the literature is the absence of large, completed, randomized controlled human trials.
Table of Contents

1.Overview

Simple explanation: BPC-157 is a laboratory-synthesized chain of 15 amino acids ("pentadecapeptide") modeled on a fragment of a protein found in human gastric juice. It is one of the more heavily studied compounds in preclinical tissue-repair literature, with a comparatively small published human-study record.

Scientific explanation: BPC-157 (sequence Gly-Glu-Pro-Pro-Pro-Gly-Lys-Pro-Ala-Asp-Asp-Ala-Gly-Leu-Val; molecular weight 1419.56 Da; CAS 137525-51-0) is described in the pharmaceutical chemistry literature as a partial sequence of a gastric protein, reported to share no significant homology with other known intestinal peptides (Józwiak et al., Pharmaceuticals, 2025). No confirmed, dedicated cell-surface receptor has been identified for it in the published literature (see Section 10).

Historical development — sourced by claim:

  • Sikiric's original hypothesis (1975) and the gastric-juice collection process (hospitals, an out-of-country physician collaborator, slaughterhouse material) are reported in STAT News/Undark investigative journalism (Talpos, 2026) based on interviews with Sikiric; this is a journalistic historical account, not a peer-reviewed publication, and is presented here as such.
  • The peptide was formally characterized and published by Sikiric, Seiwerth, and colleagues in the early-to-mid 1990s (Józwiak et al., 2025, citing the 1993 characterization); solid-phase synthesis is credited to R. Ručman (Diagen d.o.o. company history page).
  • Pliva (Croatia) advanced oral/rectal formulations under the designations PL-10, PLD-116, and PL 14736 into Phase I and Phase II human study for ulcerative colitis (Veljača et al., Gut, 2003; Ruenzi et al., Gastroenterology, 2005 — both conference abstracts; full peer-reviewed trial results were not subsequently published in a standalone paper, a gap independently noted by secondary reviewers).
  • First published retrospective musculoskeletal human data: Lee & Padgett, 2021.
  • First published human IV pharmacokinetic/safety pilot: Lee & Burgess, 2025.

Publication volume: Secondary sources (vendor and review pages, not peer-reviewed indices) place the count of preclinical BPC-157 publications in the low hundreds; a 2025 systematic review (Vasireddi et al.) screened 544 total articles (1993–2024) related to BPC-157 in orthopedic contexts alone. Treat specific total-publication-count claims as approximate and sourced to secondary counts rather than a verified index figure.

2.Mechanism of Action

  • Nitric oxide (NO) system modulation: Preclinical literature reports BPC-157 interaction with the NO signaling axis, including eNOS stimulation and, in some vascular tissue studies, disruption of the Cav-1–eNOS inhibitory complex. A 2025 published exchange between research groups (Józwiak et al. and Sikiric et al., Pharmaceuticals, 2025, DOI 10.3390/ph18101450 and 10.3390/ph18101451) reflects active disagreement over how directly current evidence establishes an NO-driven mechanism versus a more indirect or downstream role.
  • Angiogenesis / growth factor signaling: Rodent tendon and muscle studies report upregulated growth hormone receptor expression in fibroblasts (Chang et al., Molecules, 2014) and increased VEGF secretion with improved vascularization in injured tissue (Staresinic et al., 2003).
  • Anti-inflammatory/antioxidative effects: Reported reductions in inflammatory cell infiltration, decreased myeloperoxidase activity, and normalized oxidative stress markers appear across multiple rodent healing models.
  • Pathways cited in the literature: VEGFR2 signaling (Hsieh et al., PMID 27847966), FAK–paxillin adhesion complex involvement, and Src–caveolin-1–eNOS pathway interactions, alongside egr-1 gene expression changes in wound models (Tkalcevic et al., 2007).
  • Unresolved: No confirmed upstream receptor or initiating molecular target has been established; this is the central open mechanistic question in the field (see Section 10).

3.Why Researchers Study It

Interest stems from a converging set of preclinical findings across tendon, muscle, ligament, bone, gut mucosa, and vascular injury models, using a molecule reported to be unusually stable in acidic and aqueous conditions relative to most peptides.

Limitations/gaps repeatedly flagged in the literature:

  • Vasireddi et al. (2025) screened 544 articles (1993–2024) and found only 1 met inclusion criteria as a human clinical study, versus 35 preclinical.
  • No confirmed dedicated receptor identified.
  • A large share of foundational studies originate from one research group (University of Zagreb); independent replication in the indexed literature is comparatively limited.
  • The 2025 IV pilot involved 2 participants with no control group.

Potential advantages cited by researchers: breadth of reported activity across tissue types and administration routes in animal models; reported in vitro gastric-fluid stability; no lethal dose (LD1) established in toxicology screens cited in secondary literature (Xu et al., Regul Toxicol Pharmacol, 2020).

4.Pharmacokinetics

  • Absorption: Sikiric et al. (Curr Pharm Des, 2011) reported that BPC-157 resists degradation by gastric proteases and remains detectable in human gastric juice samples in vitro for more than 24 hours. This is a chemical stability finding, not a demonstration of oral bioavailability. A peptide can resist gastric degradation and still be poorly absorbed across the intestinal epithelium; no human study identified here has measured systemic oral bioavailability directly.
  • Distribution: Human distribution data has not been published; He et al. (Front Pharmacol, 2022) reported distribution, metabolism, and excretion data in rats and dogs, including a finding that the peptide/its fragments were detectable in urine via solid-phase extraction for up to 4 days in that animal model — an animal finding, not a human one.
  • Metabolism: No published human metabolic pathway data was identified.
  • Elimination/half-life: He et al. (2022) reported an elimination half-life of approximately 7.9–30 minutes following IV/IM administration in rats. The 2025 human IV pilot (Lee & Burgess) reported plasma levels returning to baseline within 24 hours of infusion — a single small human data point, not a formal PK study.
  • Bioavailability: Human oral bioavailability has not been rigorously characterized in any published study identified here.
  • Blood-brain barrier penetration: Not established in human data. Some rodent central-signaling/behavioral studies (e.g., dopaminergic pathway interactions) suggest CNS activity, but direct evidence of intact-peptide BBB penetration was not identified.

5.Human Clinical Evidence

Study (exact citation)DesignNPopulationRouteResult summary
Veljača M, Pavić-Sladoljev D, Mildner B, et al. Safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of PL 14736... Gut. 2003;51(Suppl III):A309.Phase I safety/PK (conference abstract only)Not specified in available abstractHealthy male volunteersRectal (PL 14736)Reported safe and well tolerated; basis for advancing to Phase II
Ruenzi M, Stolte M, Veljača M, et al. Phase II study of PL 14736 enema in mild-to-moderate ulcerative colitis. Gastroenterology. 2005;128:A584.Phase II RCT (conference abstract only)Not specified in available abstractMild-to-moderate ulcerative colitisRectal enema (PL 14736)Rigorous design (multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled); full results were never published in a standalone peer-reviewed paper
NCT02637284 (PharmaCotherapia d.o.o., sponsor). Phase I pilot, "PCO-02" (BPC-157). Registered 2015; Hospital Angeles, Tijuana.Phase I safety/PK42 (per secondary sources; not independently verified)Healthy adults, 18–35Oral tablet (1mg per tablet; single-dose 1/3/6 tablets, and 3 tablets 3x/day for 14 days)Listed as unknown status on ClinicalTrials.gov; no published results identified
Lee E, Padgett B. Intra-Articular Injection of BPC 157 for Multiple Types of Knee Pain. Altern Ther Health Med. 2021;27(4):8-13. PMID: 34324435.Retrospective chart review16 (12 BPC-157 alone, 4 combined with thymosin beta-4)Chronic knee pain, multiple etiologiesIntra-articular injection7 of 12 receiving BPC-157 alone reported pain relief persisting beyond 6 months; no control group, no blinding, no imaging endpoint
Lee E, Walker C, Ayadi B. Effect of BPC-157 on Symptoms in Patients with Interstitial Cystitis: A Pilot Study. Altern Ther Health Med. 2024;30(10):12-17.Open-label pilot12Moderate-to-severe interstitial cystitisIntravesicular (bladder), single 10 mg dose10 of 12 reported total symptom relief; remaining 2 reported ~80% relief via Global Response Assessment; no control group
Lee E, Burgess K. Safety of Intravenous Infusion of BPC157 in Humans: A Pilot Study. Altern Ther Health Med. 2025 Sep;31(5):20-24. PMID: 40131143.Open-label pilot safety/PK2 (58-year-old male, 68-year-old female; both had received IV BPC-157 previously)Healthy adultsIntravenous infusionDay 1: 10 mg/250cc saline over 1 hour; Day 2: 20 mg/250cc saline over 1 hour. No adverse effects reported, but the study was far too small to establish general safety or detect uncommon adverse events

Registered, not-yet-reported trial: NCT07437547, "BPC 157 for Acute Hamstring Muscle Strain Repair." Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled Phase 2 study; per the registry record, plans to enroll approximately 120 adults (18–45) with MRI-confirmed acute grade II hamstring strain, randomized 1:1 to subcutaneous BPC-157 or placebo daily for 14 days alongside standardized rehabilitation, with co-primary endpoints of time to return to unrestricted sport and Day-14 MRI-assessed injury volume. Secondary sources described the trial as recruiting as of early-to-mid 2026; status should be re-verified directly against ClinicalTrials.gov at time of publication, as recruitment status changes.

Bottom line: As of this writing, no large, randomized, placebo-controlled human trial of BPC-157 for any indication has published completed results.

6.Animal Research

Rat models (representative, not exhaustive):

  • Achilles tendon transection (Staresinic et al., J Orthop Res. 2003;21:976-983): BPC-157 (10 µg, 10 ng, or 10 pg/kg, IP, once daily) accelerated healing of transected Achilles tendon; also stimulated tendocyte growth and VEGF secretion in vitro.
  • Achilles detachment/tendon-to-bone healing (Krivic et al., J Orthop Res. 2006): same dose range, IP; promoted tendon-to-bone healing and counteracted a corticosteroid-induced healing delay.
  • Transected quadriceps muscle (Staresinic et al., J Orthop Res. 2006;24(5):1109-17): same dose range, IP, once daily, first dose 30 min post-injury, last dose 24h before sacrifice; improved muscle healing across a 72-day observation period.
  • MCL ligament transection (Cerovecki et al., J Orthop Res. 2010;28(9)): compared IP (10 µg or 10 ng/kg), topical (1.0 µg in cream base), and oral drinking-water (0.16 µg/mL, 12 mL/day) administration; reported consistent functional/histological improvement across all three routes through 90 days.
  • Gastrointestinal models (colocutaneous fistula, ileoileal anastomosis, gastric/esophageal lesion): multiple Sikiric-group papers report efficacy via IP and oral (drinking water) routes at similar µg–ng/kg ranges.

Rabbit models: Sebecic et al. (Bone. 1999;24:195-202) reported an osteogenic effect on segmental bone defect healing, compared against bone marrow and autologous cortical bone implantation.

Dog/rat PK/tox model: He et al. (Front Pharmacol. 2022;13:1026182, PMID 36588717) — pharmacokinetics, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of BPC-157 in rats and dogs; this is the most directly relevant ADME source identified and should be prioritized over secondary-source PK summaries.

What has/hasn't translated: Musculoskeletal and GI findings have been replicated across multiple injury models by the same research group; independent, non-Zagreb-affiliated replication is limited in the indexed literature, and translation to human musculoskeletal outcomes is currently supported by only the single small retrospective dataset described in Section 5.

7.Published Research Protocols

Study-record notice: The entries below document historical research designs exactly as published. They have not been converted, normalized, or extrapolated into personal-use protocols. Animal doses are not human doses, and no calculation, conversion, or "equivalent human dose" appears anywhere in this section.

Human — Lee & Burgess, 2025 (PMID 40131143)

  • Species: Human (n=2, healthy adults)
  • Route: Intravenous infusion
  • Dose/frequency/duration: 10 mg in 250 cc normal saline over 1 hour (Day 1); 20 mg in 250 cc normal saline over 1 hour (Day 2)
  • Stated rationale: establish preliminary human safety data; no prior published study had assessed IV administration in humans

Human — Lee & Padgett, 2021 (PMID 34324435)

  • Species: Human (n=16)
  • Route: Intra-articular injection
  • Dose: 4 mg (2 cc at 2000 mcg/mL) BPC-157 alone; combination arms 2–4 mg BPC-157 with 3–6 mg thymosin beta-4
  • Frequency/duration: single injection per patient; retrospective follow-up 6–12 months
  • Stated rationale: evaluate intra-articular BPC-157 for knee pain of multiple etiologies, not previously studied for this peptide

Human — Lee, Walker & Ayadi, 2024 (Altern Ther Health Med. 2024;30(10):12-17)

  • Species: Human (n=12)
  • Route: Intravesicular (bladder instillation)
  • Dose/frequency: single 10 mg dose
  • Stated rationale: assess feasibility and short-term symptom impact in a condition (interstitial cystitis) with no effective standard treatment

Human — Ruenzi et al. (PL 14736, ulcerative colitis Phase II) (Gastroenterology. 2005;128:A584)

  • Species: Human, mild-to-moderate ulcerative colitis
  • Route: Rectal enema
  • Design: multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled
  • Stated rationale: evaluate tolerability/efficacy of a rectal BPC-157 formulation following favorable Phase I safety/PK data (Veljača et al., 2003)

Animal — Staresinic et al., 2003 (J Orthop Res. 2003;21:976-983)

  • Species: Rat; Route: Intraperitoneal
  • Dose/frequency/duration: 10 µg, 10 ng, or 10 pg/kg, once daily, first dose 30 min post-surgery, last dose 24h before sacrifice
  • Stated rationale: test whether systemic peptide administration accelerates healing of a large surgical tendon defect that does not heal spontaneously in this model

Animal — Cerovecki et al., 2010 (J Orthop Res. 2010;28(9))

  • Species: Rat; Routes compared: IP (10 µg or 10 ng/kg); topical (1.0 µg in cream base); oral (0.16 µg/mL drinking water, 12 mL/day)
  • Duration: through 90 days post-transection
  • Stated rationale: test whether reported efficacy held across multiple administration routes, given the compound's reported gastric stability

Cross-cutting observation: the rodent dose-response literature repeatedly reports comparable healing effects across µg, ng, and pg/kg doses — a non-monotonic pattern several reviewers note complicates simple allometric extrapolation, and which remains an open research question rather than a settled finding.

8.Formulation and Stability in Research Literature

  • Physical form: Peptide pharmaceutical chemistry literature describes lyophilized (freeze-dried) form as standard for peptides generally, since it removes the aqueous environment that drives hydrolysis, oxidation, deamidation, and aggregation. This is a general pharmaceutics principle, not a BPC-157-specific validated stability study.
  • Reported gastric/aqueous stability: Sikiric et al. (2011) reported >24-hour stability in human gastric juice in vitro and stability across a broad pH range. Distinguish clearly: stability in gastric fluid describes resistance to chemical/enzymatic breakdown; it does not by itself establish that a meaningful fraction crosses the intestinal epithelium into systemic circulation. No human oral bioavailability study was identified to confirm this link.
  • Delivery routes studied in the literature: intraperitoneal (rodent, predominant), oral/drinking water (rodent), intravenous infusion (human, Lee & Burgess 2025), intra-articular injection (human, Lee & Padgett 2021), rectal enema (human, Ruenzi et al. 2005 / oral tablet, NCT02637284), intravesicular (human, Lee et al. 2024), and topical/cream-based (rodent).
  • What is not established: No validated, stability-indicating assay data (forced-degradation or long-term real-time stability studies specific to a commercial BPC-157 drug product) was identified in the peer-reviewed literature reviewed here. Detailed shelf-life/storage-condition claims common on vendor and community sites do not currently trace to a peer-reviewed pharmaceutical stability study for this compound specifically.

9.Safety

  • Preclinical: Multiple rodent toxicology studies cited in the literature (Xu et al., 2020; Seiwerth et al., 2018) report no lethal dose identified (LD1 not established) and no major organ-system adverse effects at doses studied.
  • Human (limited data): The 2025 IV pilot (n=2) reported no measurable adverse effects on cardiac, hepatic, renal, thyroid, or glucose biomarkers at doses up to 20 mg — again, a two-person, uncontrolled result, not an established safety profile. The Phase I rectal PL 14736 study in healthy volunteers reported the formulation was safe and well tolerated. No published human study has followed participants beyond a short-term observation window.
  • Theoretical/unresolved risks: Reviewers (e.g., FDA compounding-review materials, per secondary reporting) have specifically flagged immunogenicity and peptide-impurity characterization as concerns. The absence of a confirmed receptor mechanism (Section 2) is separately cited by some reviewers as a reason for caution interpreting the preclinical safety record.
  • Drug interactions: No published human drug-interaction studies were identified.
  • Regulatory status — as of July 2026, precisely stated:
    • BPC-157 has not been approved by any governmental regulatory authority for any human therapeutic indication.
    • In the United States, BPC-157 (free base) and BPC-157 acetate are among substances being reviewed by the FDA's Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee (PCAC) at a meeting scheduled for July 23–24, 2026, for potential inclusion on the Section 503A Bulk Drug Substances List, specifically for a nominated use in ulcerative colitis (docket FDA-2025-N-6895). FDA's own briefing documents, posted ahead of the meeting, propose that BPC-157 not be added to the list. This is an advisory-committee recommendation process; it is not a final rule, and the ultimate FDA determination had not been published as of this writing. This section should be re-verified against FDA.gov before publication, given the imminent meeting date.
    • Separately, the World Anti-Doping Agency has prohibited BPC-157 at all times under its S0 (Non-Approved Substances) category since 2022, independent of FDA compounding status.

10.Evidence Quality & Ongoing Scientific Debate

  • Receptor identity: No confirmed, dedicated receptor has been identified in the peer-reviewed literature reviewed here. Claims that BPC-157's sequence is absent from reference human genome/microbiome databases are reported in STAT News/Undark investigative journalism (Talpos, 2026); this monograph presents that claim as journalistic reporting rather than a citation to a primary molecular-biology paper, and it should be verified against a peer-reviewed source before being stated as an established fact. The 2025 Pharmaceuticals exchange between Józwiak et al. and Sikiric et al. documents genuine, ongoing disagreement between research groups over mechanism interpretation.
  • Concentration of authorship: A large share of the foundational preclinical literature originates from one research group (University of Zagreb); independent replication by unaffiliated labs is comparatively limited in the indexed literature.
  • Human-vs-animal evidence gap: As detailed in Sections 5–6, the published record is heavily skewed toward animal/in vitro work (Vasireddi et al. 2025: 1 of 36 included studies was a human clinical study).
  • Why large trials haven't happened: Explanations involving patent difficulty for a naturally derived peptide fragment and the cost of Phase I–III development appear in multiple secondary/reviewer sources (e.g., peptide-industry review sites) rather than in a primary regulatory or sponsor statement; presented here as a commonly cited explanation, not a verified fact.

11.Frequently Asked Questions

12.Comparison: BPC-157 vs. Thymosin Beta-4 / TB-500

DimensionBPC-157TB-500 (Thymosin Beta-4 fragment)
OriginGastric protein-derived pentadecapeptideSynthetic fragment of naturally occurring thymosin beta-4
Primary preclinical mechanismNO-system modulation, angiogenesis, anti-inflammatoryActin-binding, cell migration, angiogenesis-related signaling
Human clinical dataLimited (Section 5)More limited than BPC-157; primarily preclinical
Reported co-administrationLee & Padgett, 2021 (combination arms)Same study
FDA 503A review status (as of July 2026)Under PCAC review July 23, 2026; FDA briefing recommends against listingAlso under PCAC review July 23, 2026; same recommendation pattern per FDA briefing materials
WADA statusProhibited (S0)Also restricted under WADA peptide-hormone categories

Both appear together in the single published human musculoskeletal dataset available (Lee & Padgett, 2021); the study was not designed to isolate each compound's independent contribution.

13.Fun Science

Did you know? Per STAT News/Undark reporting (Talpos, 2026, journalistic account), Sikiric traced his hypothesis to a 1975 lecture on stress physiology — nearly 15 years before his team's reported 1989 isolation of a candidate molecule.

A peptide that (reportedly) survives where others don't: most peptides are broken down quickly by stomach acid and digestive enzymes, which is why many peptide drugs are injected rather than swallowed. BPC-157's reported resistance to gastric degradation (Sikiric et al., 2011) is a genuinely distinguishing chemistry finding — though, as covered in Section 8, resisting breakdown is not the same as being well absorbed.

A scientific mystery hiding in plain sight: despite three decades of published research and a fully defined, synthesizable structure, the field still hasn't confirmed a dedicated receptor for BPC-157 — chemically well-characterized, but mechanistically still an open question.

14.References

  1. 1.Staresinic M, Sebecic B, Patrlj L, et al. Gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 accelerates healing of transected rat Achilles tendon and in vitro stimulates tendocytes growth. J Orthop Res. 2003;21:976-983.
  2. 2.Staresinic M, Petrovic I, Novinscak T, et al. Effective therapy of transected quadriceps muscle in rat: Gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157. J Orthop Res. 2006;24(5):1109-17.
  3. 3.Krivic A, et al. Achilles detachment in rat and stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157: Promoted tendon-to-bone healing and opposed corticosteroid aggravation. J Orthop Res. 2006.
  4. 4.Cerovecki T, et al. Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 (PL 14736) improves ligament healing in the rat. J Orthop Res. 2010;28(9).
  5. 5.Sebecic B, Nikolic V, Sikiric P, et al. Osteogenic effect of a gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 on the healing of segmental bone defect in rabbits. Bone. 1999;24:195-202.
  6. 6.Sikiric P, et al. Stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157: novel therapy in gastrointestinal tract. Curr Pharm Des. 2011;17(16):1612-32.
  7. 7.He L, Feng D, Guo H, et al. Pharmacokinetics, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of body-protective compound 157 in rats and dogs. Front Pharmacol. 2022;13:1026182.PMID: 36588717
  8. 8.Veljača M, Pavić-Sladoljev D, Mildner B, et al. Safety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics of PL 14736 in healthy male volunteers. Gut. 2003;51(Suppl III):A309.
  9. 9.Ruenzi M, Stolte M, Veljača M, et al. A multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled Phase II study of PL 14736 enema in mild-to-moderate ulcerative colitis. Gastroenterology. 2005;128:A584.
  10. 10.Lee E, Padgett B. Intra-Articular Injection of BPC 157 for Multiple Types of Knee Pain. Altern Ther Health Med. 2021;27(4):8-13.PMID: 34324435
  11. 11.Lee E, Walker C, Ayadi B. Effect of BPC-157 on Symptoms in Patients with Interstitial Cystitis: A Pilot Study. Altern Ther Health Med. 2024;30(10):12-17.
  12. 12.Lee E, Burgess K. Safety of Intravenous Infusion of BPC157 in Humans: A Pilot Study. Altern Ther Health Med. 2025 Sep;31(5):20-24.PMID: 40131143
  13. 13.NCT02637284. Phase I pilot study of PCO-02 (BPC-157) in healthy volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov (sponsor: PharmaCotherapia d.o.o.), registered 2015.
  14. 14.NCT07437547. BPC 157 for Acute Hamstring Muscle Strain Repair. ClinicalTrials.gov (verify current status before publication).{{VERIFY}}
  15. 15.Vasireddi N, Hahamyan H, Salata MJ, et al. Emerging Use of BPC-157 in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: A Systematic Review. Am J Sports Med (HSS Journal ahead-of-print). 2025 Jul 31.PMID: 40756949
  16. 16.Józwiak M, Bauer M, Kamysz W, Kleczkowska P. Multifunctionality and Possible Medical Application of the BPC 157 Peptide—Literature and Patent Review. Pharmaceuticals. 2025;18:185.
  17. 17.Sikiric P, et al. Reply to Józwiak et al.; and Józwiak et al. original comment. Pharmaceuticals. 2025. DOI 10.3390/ph18101450 and 10.3390/ph18101451.
  18. 18.Talpos K. The hidden history of BPC-157, a favorite MAHA peptide. STAT News/Undark, 2026. (Journalistic source — historical/anecdotal claims sourced here should be flagged as such, not treated as peer-reviewed fact.)
  19. 19.U.S. Food and Drug Administration. July 23–24, 2026 Meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee; Docket FDA-2025-N-6895; Federal Register notice, April 15–16, 2026.
  20. 20.World Anti-Doping Agency. Prohibited List, Section S0 (Non-Approved Substances), 2022–present.
  21. 21.Xu C, Sun L, Ren FL, et al. Preclinical safety evaluation of body protective compound-157. Regul Toxicol Pharmacol. 2020;114.

Linked Research Evidence (15)

Published studies and registry summaries. Trial registration alone is not evidence of efficacy.

Peptide Synergy: Tissue Recovery and Wound Healing

Review

Evidence-based review of wound healing peptide synergy, examining angiogenesis, collagen deposition, and tendon repair mechanisms.

Peptide Synergy: Immune System Modulation

Review

Evidence-based review of immune peptide synergy, examining thymic function, antimicrobial defense, and cytokine modulation.

Intranasal Peptide Delivery: Pharmacokinetic Foundations

Review

A review of intranasal peptide delivery pharmacology, examining nasal cavity anatomy, absorption mechanisms, and bioavailability considerations.

Intranasal Bioavailability: Comparing Routes of Administration

Review

A comparative review of peptide bioavailability across administration routes, with emphasis on intranasal delivery advantages and limitations.

Intranasal Peptide Stability and Storage Guidelines

Review

A technical review of intranasal peptide stability, degradation pathways, and evidence-based storage guidelines.

Thymalin: Thymic Peptide Immunomodulation — Clinical and Translational Evidence

Peer-Reviewed

Thymalin is a thymus-derived peptide preparation used clinically in several countries for immunomodulation. This review summarizes the translational and clinical evidence supporting its use in immune restoration.

Ligandrol (LGD-4033): Evidence-Based Research Review

Clinical Trial

Ligandrol (LGD-4033), also known as VK5211, is a potent, non-steroidal selective androgen receptor modulator (SARM) developed for the treatment of conditions characterized by muscle wasting and osteoporosis. As a SARM, it is designed to exert anabolic effects on skeletal muscle and bone while minimi

Clomiphene Citrate: Evidence-Based Research Review

Clinical Trial

Clomiphene citrate (CC) is a non-steroidal triphenylethylene derivative classified as a Selective Estrogen Receptor Modulator (SERM). Originally developed for the induction of ovulation in women with anovulatory infertility, it has become a cornerstone of reproductive medicine. CC operates as a race

Tamoxifen Citrate: Evidence-Based Research Review

Clinical Trial

Tamoxifen citrate is a non-steroidal triphenylethylene derivative and the prototypic Selective Estrogen Receptor Modulator (SERM). Originally developed as a contraceptive, it has become a cornerstone in the treatment and prophylaxis of estrogen receptor-positive (ER+) breast cancer. Tamoxifen exhibi

Oxandrolone: Evidence-Based Research Review

Clinical Trial

Oxandrolone (17β-hydroxy-17α-methyl-2-oxa-5α-androstan-3-one) is a synthetic oral anabolic-androgenic steroid (AAS) derived from dihydrotestosterone (DHT). Characterized by a unique substitution of an oxygen atom for the carbon at the C-2 position in the A-ring, oxandrolone exhibits a high anabolic-

Nandrolone Decanoate: Evidence-Based Research Review

Clinical Trial

Nandrolone decanoate (ND) is a long-acting injectable ester of the anabolic-androgenic steroid (AAS) nandrolone (19-nortestosterone). Characterized by a high anabolic-to-androgenic ratio, ND has been utilized clinically for decades to treat conditions involving protein catabolism, bone density loss,

Andarine (S-4): Evidence-Based Research Review

Preclinical

Andarine (also known as S-4 or GTx-007) is an early-generation, nonsteroidal selective androgen receptor modulator (SARM) belonging to the aryl propionamide class. Developed initially for the treatment of conditions such as muscle wasting and osteoporosis, Andarine demonstrates high affinity for the

Boldenone Undecylenate: Evidence-Based Research Review

Preclinical

Boldenone undecylenate, a synthetic derivative of testosterone originally developed for veterinary use, is a long-acting injectable anabolic-androgenic steroid (AAS). Characterized by a double bond between the C1 and C2 positions, the compound exhibits a favorable ratio of anabolic to androgenic act

Methenolone Enanthate: Evidence-Based Research Review

Clinical Trial

Methenolone enanthate is a long-acting injectable anabolic-androgenic steroid (AAS) derived from dihydrotestosterone (DHT). Characterized by a 1-methyl modification and a 2-oxo group, it exhibits a high anabolic-to-androgenic ratio and is notable for its inability to aromatize into estrogen. Origina

BPC-157 and Tissue Repair Signaling Pathways

Clinical Trial

Comprehensive review of BPC-157 mechanisms in tissue repair, angiogenesis, and mucosal healing.

ARIA · Sign in to chat